This SXSW grind is non-stop. There are showcases, panels, parties and the many scandolous afterparties going on around the clock. The highlight yesterday was opening for Daedelus, Toro Y Moi and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. I opened the set with “Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone (DJ Jazzy Jeff Mix)” and ended with Michael Jackson “Billie Jean.” The crowd at Volstead Lounge gave great energy.

So far at the fest, I am impressed with how many bands are out personally “street teaming” their music. Really running up to you and handing you a mixtape or flyer. It’s inspiring to see artists not only rely on the web to promote themselves. But physically share their passion with future fans.

A group named Los Rakas just gained a new fan (me). I was leaving Shangri-La on E. 6th St. after watching Foster the People perform. These 4 guys walk up to me. One was pointing a flip cam in my face. The curly-haired one with the fresh gold tooth says to me, “I think you should listen to our music” and hands me a flyer. In conversation I find out that they are a rap group from Panama that was invited to play the Vibe Showcase. I had never heard of them, but figured I’d give it a listen.

I applaud their music and this video. Their hustlers approach and the Cool Kids meets Kid Cudi look and feel gets two thumbs up. I understand every 3rd word they say. But the beat, cadence and timing are on point. They are playing tonight at Venue 222, 10 pm, Corner of 6th and San Jacinto. It is Free. Get familiar with Los Rakas.

